Frank's vinyl collectie

Breakfast in America

Breakfast in America

Breakfast in America is the sixth studio album by the English rock band Supertramp, released on 29 March 1979 by A&M Records. It was recorded in 1978 at The Village Recorder in Los Angeles. It spawned four U.S. Billboard hit singles: "The Logical Song" (No. 6), "Goodbye Stranger" (No. 15), "Take the Long Way Home" (No. 10) and "Breakfast in America" (No. 62). In the UK, "The Logical Song" and the title track were both top 10 hits, the only two the group had in their native country.[1]
Breakfast in America won two Grammy Awards in 1980, and holds an RIAA certification of quadruple platinum. Breakfast in America became Supertramp's biggest-selling album with more than 4 million copies sold in the US alone and was No. 1 on Billboard Pop Albums Chart for six weeks in the spring and summer of 1979. The album also hit No. 1 in Norway, Austria, Canada, Australia and France, where it is one of the five biggest selling albums of all time.

Supertramp (known as Daddy in 1969–1970) are an English rock band formed in London in 1969. Though their music was initially categorised as progressive rock, they later incorporated a combination of traditional rock, pop and art rock into their music.
The band's work is marked by the individual songwriting of founders Roger Hodgson and Rick Davies and the prominent use of Wurlitzer electric piano and saxophone. Though their early style was progressive, they would enjoy greater commercial success when they incorporated more radio-friendly pop elements into their work in the mid-1970s, going on to sell more than 60 million albums.[4][5] The band reached their commercial peak with 1979's Breakfast in America, which sold more than 20 million copies.[6]
Supertramp attained significant popularity in the UK, US, Canada, Europe, South Africa, and Australia. Since co-founder Hodgson's departure in 1983, Davies has led the band by himself.

  • Artist : Supertramp
  • Genre : Album Rock, Art Rock, Pop Rock, Progressive Pop, Progressive Rock, Rock
  • Publication date : 1979
  • Label : A&M Records
  • Compositor : Error : unknown field
  • Producer : Error : unknown field
  • Format : 12" Vinyl
  • Origin : Error : unknown field
  • Location : Error : unknown field
  • Tags : Error : unknown field
  • Link
  • 10 pistes 45:58
    1 Gone Hollywood 5:19
    2 The Logical Song 4:10
    3 Goodbye Stranger 5:50
    4 Breakfast in America 2:39
    5 Oh Darling 3:47
    6 Take the Long Way Home 5:10
    7 Lord Is It Mine 4:10
    8 Just Another Nervous Wreck 4:25
    9 Casual Conversations 2:58
    10 Child of Vision 7:25