A New World Record


Artist: Electric Light Orchestra
Label: United Artists
Year: 1976
Genre: Symphonic Rock
URL: http://musicbrainz.org/release/3715fefb-101f-3da5-8244-129f1cae49bc.html##MusicBrainz
Composer: Lynne, Jeff
Producer: Lynne, Jeff


Title Artist Length
Tightrope Electric Light Orchestra 5:05::Electric Light Orchestra
Telephone Line Electric Light Orchestra 4:40::Electric Light Orchestra
Rockaria! Electric Light Orchestra 3:14::Electric Light Orchestra
Mission (A World Record) Electric Light Orchestra 4:28::Electric Light Orchestra
So Fine Electric Light Orchestra 3:56::Electric Light Orchestra
Livin’ Thing Electric Light Orchestra 3:33::Electric Light Orchestra
Above the Clouds Electric Light Orchestra 2:18::Electric Light Orchestra
Do Ya Electric Light Orchestra 3:46::Electric Light Orchestra
Shangri-La Electric Light Orchestra 5:34::Electric Light Orchestra


Rating: 5 stars
Purchase Date: 11/12/2017
Purchase Price:
Location: https://www.discogs.com/release/991589-Electric-Light-Orchestra-A-New-World-Record


A New World Record is the sixth studio album by Electric Light Orchestra (ELO). It was released in October 1976 on United Artists Records in the U.S., and on 19 November 1976 on Jet Records in the United Kingdom.[1][2] A New World Record marked ELO's shift towards shorter pop songs, a trend which would continue across their career. Their second album to be recorded at Musicland Studios in Munich, the LP proved to be the band's breakthrough in the UK; after their previous three studio recordings failed to chart in their home market, A New World Record became their first top ten album in the UK. It became a global success and reached multi-platinum status in the US and UK, The album sold five million units worldwide within its first year of release. The cover art features the ELO logo, designed by Kosh, for the first time. This logo would be included on most of the group's subsequent releases. The album yielded four hit singles, including "Livin' Thing", the transatlantic Top Ten hit "Telephone Line", which became the band's first gold US single, the UK Top Ten hit "Rockaria!", and the US number 24 hit "Do Ya", a remake of the 1972 single by The Move, of which Lynne was a member between 1970 and 1972. In 1977, four of the album's songs were featured on the soundtrack of the film Joyride. In 2006, the album was remastered and released with bonus tracks on Sony's Epic/Legacy imprint. "Surrender" was also issued as a promotional single and an iTunes download single, which entered the top 100 download chart. The track was originally written in 1976 for a cancelled film soundtrack and was finished in 2006.[3] In July 2012, the all vinyl record company Music on Vinyl re-released A New World Record on 180 gram vinyl with an embossed cover.